• Carmen Linares

    Born in Linares, Jaén, Carmen Linares has carved out a place for herself in contemporary Spanish musical culture. In the 70s and 80s she worked in Madrid alongside artists such as Enrique Morente, Camarón, Carmen Mora, and the brothers Juan and Pepe Habichuela. That’s how it all began.

    An artist with international renown, the contemporary voice of flamenco, Carmen Linares has performed Manuel de Falla’s El Amor Brujo, under conductors such as Josep Pons, Leo Brower, Frubech de Burgos, and Victor Pablo in venues including the Lincoln Center in New York, the Sidney Opera House, and the Royal Albert Hall in London.

    She has recorded classic albums such as Canciones Populares de Lorca, Antología de la mujer el cante and Raíces y Alas. Her on-stage performances include collaborations with artists such as Manolo Sanlucar, Eva Yerbabuena, Victor Ullate, Uri Caine, Blanca Lí, Irene Papas, Lola Herrera, Miguel Poveda, and Arcángel.

    Over the last twenty years she has appeared in shows all over the world, with her performances of “Oasis Abierto,” “Ensayo Flamenco,” “Remembranzas,” “Encuentro,” and “Cu4tro” being of particular acclaim. In these shows, Carmen played alongside artists such as Belén Maya, Jorge Pardo, Gerardo Núñez, Rafaela Carrasco, Tomasito, Juan Carlos Romero, Carles Benavent, Javier Barón, Tino Di Geraldo, and Miguel Ángel Cortés, among others.

    She will release her new album titled “Verso a Verso”, a homage to the poet Miguel Hernández, in 2017. Accompanied by a piano, guitar, double bass, and drums, Carmen’s voice seeks out intimacy to convey her flamenco expression in this selection of unique songs.


    – Spanish Honorific Academy Award and Flamenco Award (2011)

    – Golden Medal of Culture of Spain (2006)

    – National Music Award (2001)

    – Silver Medal of Culture of Andalucía (1998)

    Discografía destacada

    – “Verso a Verso” (Salobre, 2017)

    – “Remembranzas” (Salobre, 2011)

    – “Raíces y Alas” (Salobre, 2008)

    – “Un ramito de locura” (Universal, 2002)

    – “Antología de la mujer en el cante” (Universal, 1996)